Best 2 Hours I’ve Ever Worked

Today at work, I had the good fortune to be able to bill 2 hours for buying a recording rig at Guitar Center.

Since a lot of the materials we have been developing lately involve voiceovers, narration, and other audio work, I had been bringing in some of my equipment on recording days. This being a corporate environment (and undergoing a merger at that), I had to make LOTS of changes to the recordings during the past few months. Eventually I got fed up with dragging in my ProjectMix and a condenser mic to record 45 to 60 seconds to a single track of audio. I let my managers know that I wasn’t bringing in my equipment anymore because:

  • it is very expensive and things being like they are where I work (big office with lots of sticky fingers), it makes me nervous from the moment I get in to the moment I leave.
  • I am paid by the hour, which does not include any type of equipment rental.

So because of this, I got permission from my manager to go out to Guitar Center and spend $520.12 to acquire:

  • 1 M-Audio MobilePre USB interface
  • 2 mics (was looking for AT2020 condensers but ended up getting Sennheiser e835’s)
  • 2 mic stands
  • 2 mic cables
  • monitor headphones

Sweet!

My only complaint about Guitar Center (at least this time around): They only sell the AT2020 mic as a special order item. However, you can get one at the store if you buy an AT mic bundle which also includes a small-diaphragm condenser.

After spending 45 minutes trying to avoid the salesman’s attempts to upsell or tack on some extended warranty, we finally managed to get everything we needed rounded up. When it was finally time to pay, the P-card didn’t go through… so D.P. had to spend 15 minutes on the phone to get an explanation: we were trying to use the card at an “unauthorized vendor” and we would have to get it cleared with the plan administrator.

So I got to bill for an additional 30 minutes while DP and the clerk got the whole payment thing straightened out (I sat down behind some kind of digital version of a Hammond B3).

All in all, a pretty good day at work.

Leave a Reply

