Review: Midnite @ Club Seduction, Decatur, GA, 2/10/07

I post retroactively since preQ only came to be 15 days after I went to this show.

Some back story, I have been a huge Midnite fan for close to 8 years or so. I first heard their Unpolished cd blasting out of the trunk of Roberto Diaz’s green GMC Yukon in a high school parking lot, and since then I’ve followed the band closely. For many reasons that would take too long to explain, I never saw Midnite while I lived in Puerto Rico, even though they live practically next door (the beautiful island of St. Croix…). I managed to finally catch one of their shows at the Music Farm in Charleston, and it turned out to be one of the best shows ever. Or at least the best one I’d ever seen from a single band, taking a single 5-minute break, and playing for 3 hours with no opener.

So a bunch of friends and I went to go see the Midnite crew @ Club Seduction in Decatur. My friend Diana even flew in from Miami. The only reason I found out about the show in the first place is that I check the band’s website often for tour dates. I’d never even heard of Club Seduction. I Googled the place to try and get a phone number, but the only one I could find was disconnected. Fortunately, my friend JC somehow had the brilliant idea to call the band’s manager (!) whose number he found somewhere on the Internet, so we were able to confirm that they were indeed playing.

Club Seduction was pretty much the biggest dump I have ever seen. Tucked into the side of a decrepit strip mall, it’s got a strobe light shining on the face of the club and it looks like it’s decorated for Halloween… or something. At least it had pool tables…

Flash forward a few hours, and the MC finally introduces the last opener. Most of the openers were ok, but unfortunately none were quite so memorable that I could remember their names 2 weeks after.

Then, finally, Midnite came onstage. They went right into it, and they were AWESOME. Most of the material they played was from their newer records, and if I have one complaint, it’s that I didn’t get to hear “Banking in the Pig” or “Bushman”, although they must know since those are 2 of the 4 songs on their Myspace page. That’s right, I’m complaining… even if they did play for 2 1/2 hours!

But, in all seriousness, Midnite once again proved to be a solid choice for a night of true roots reggae. And Club Seduction needs to be remodeled very badly.

 



Leave a Reply

